Meet DSO

Jon Tooby-039-2

Jonathan Tooby

Artistic Director and Chief Conductor

A Conductor, Artistic Director and Cellist, Jonathan Tooby has worked extensively throughout Australia, Asia and Europe over the last 30 years. He has performed in all forms of music including  Symphonic, Opera, Ballet, Chamber Music and Film and even in Bands  playing music from Bach to AC/DC. He is also in demand as a music educator from primary levels through to the Australian Youth Orchestra.

DSO Players 2018

Violin 1

Wan-Ling Chang

Claire Crocombe

Anna Faehse

Alison Grootendorst

Celina Hodge

Swasti Paramita

Anna Ralph

Judy Schultz

Karen Telford


Violin 2

Netanela Mizrahi*

Sonya Bree

Kengo Hamaguchi

Helen Humphreys

Erna Jarvis

Nita McAuley

Lachlan Peattie

Vino Sathianathan


Annette Anderson*

Melissa Chellis

Lou Elliott

Mary Frost

Cathy Shilton

Alphonsus Tan

Mary Wheaton

Double Bass

Sally Cutter*

Kathy Campbell

Rhiannon Oakhill


Rebecca Harris*

Cathy Applegate

Nicholas McGrath

Denise Phelps


Erna Jarvis

Piano / Celeste

Kathryn Ezzy

Flute / Piccolo

Roslyn Perry*

Katrina Fong Lim Chair of Principal Flute

Tania Bird

Oboe / Cor Anglais

Julie-Ann Watson


Stephen Pevely*

Natalie Chin

Susi Bertei

Jenny Young

Bass Clarinet

Susi Bertei


John Oakman*

Kezia Purick Chair of Principal Bassoon

Alana Bryett

French Horn

Liz Clarkson*

Helen List

Bruce Cartwright

Jessie Spargo


Patricia Joy

Sarah Lynar


Matthew Holt

Mark Hulsman

Paul Burgess

Bass Trombone

Neil Williamson


Carol Atkinson


Ron Roberts


Lorelei Williamson


Chris Spargo*

Simon Murphy

Kathryn Ezzy


# Concertmaster

* Section Leader