Meet DSO

Jon Tooby-039-2

Jonathan Tooby

Artistic Director and Chief Conductor

A Conductor, Artistic Director and Cellist, Jonathan Tooby has worked extensively throughout Australia, Asia and Europe over the last 30 years. He has performed in all forms of music including  Symphonic, Opera, Ballet, Chamber Music and Film and even in Bands  playing music from Bach to AC/DC. He is also in demand as a music educator from primary levels through to the Australian Youth Orchestra.



Monica Naselow

Concertmaster & Education/Outreach Officer

Combining her extensive orchestral experience with her passion for music education, Monica contributes to the sustainability and further development of classical music in Darwin and the Northern Territory.

Graduating from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music with first class Honours in 1999, Monica was awarded the Queen’s Trust of Australia Scholarship which allowed her to study at the Zurich Opera Orchestral Academy in Switzerland.

In 2002 she moved to the Netherlands for a position with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (RCO). During her 10 years as a permanent member of the RCO, Monica performed with many distinguished conductors including Mariss Jansons, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Riccardo Chailly, touring throughout Europe, Asia and the USA with performances including Carnegie Hall, the BBC Proms and Suntory Hall. Monica also recorded for the label RCO Live and for Pentatone Classics with the Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra. Since returning to live in Australia in 2012, Monica has been a member of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, the Australian World Orchestra and is a founding member of the acclaimed Kettering Piano Quartet as well as bringing her teaching expertise to mentor Australian musicians through collaborative efforts with the Australian Youth Orchestra and Australian National Academy of Music programs.

In addition, Monica has led masterclasses and mentored students through the Australian World Orchestra.

DSO Players 2018

Violin 1

Monica Naselow #

Anastasia Coroneo*

Wan-Ling Chang

Claire Crocombe

George Drewett

Anna Faehse

Alison Grootendorst

Celina Hodge

Swasti Paramita

Anna Ralph

Judy Schultz

Karen Telford


Violin 2

Netanela Mizrahi*

Sonya Bree

Lois Fong

Kengo Hamaguchi

Helen Humphreys

Erna Jarvis

Nita McAuley

Lachlan Peattie

Vino Sathianathan

John Wilks


Annette Anderson*

Melissa Chellis

Lou Elliott

Mary Frost

Cathy Shilton

Alphonsus Tan

Mary Wheaton

Double Bass

Sally Cutter*

Kathy Campbell

Rhiannon Oakhill


Rebecca Harris*

Cathy Applegate

Pip Binns

Laura McCann

Nicholas McGrath

Denise Phelps


Erna Jarvis

Piano / Celeste

Kathryn Ezzy

Flute / Piccolo

Roslyn Perry*

Katrina Fong Lim Chair of Principal Flute

Andrew O’Connor

Tania Bird

Oboe / Cor Anglais

Julie-Ann Watson


Stephen Pevely*

Natalie Chin

Susi Bertei

Jenny Young

Bass Clarinet

Susi Bertei


John Oakman*

Kezia Purick Chair of Principal Bassoon

Alana Bryett

French Horn

Liz Clarkson*

Helen List

Bruce Cartwright

Jessie Spargo


Patricia Joy

Sarah Lynar


Matthew Holt

Mark Hulsman

Paul Burgess

Bass Trombone

Neil Williamson


Carol Atkinson


Ron Roberts


Mark Smith


Chris Spargo*

Simon Murphy

Kathryn Ezzy


# Concertmaster

* Section Leader